Preview: Scunthorpe vs Plymouth

SCUNTHORPE Scorpions begin the new Championship season against Plymouth at the Eddie Wright Raceway on Sunday (3pm).

It’s the first time the Scorpions have rode a league fixture at home since 2019 and it’s sure to be a tasty encounter against the Gladiators.

Three-time World Champion Jason Crump makes a welcome return to British speedway to spearhead the visitors attack alongside former Grand Prix star Bjarne Pedersen.

The Scorpions, meanwhile, suffered the loss of Aussie Jake Allen over the winter, but they will have plenty of firepower with the likes of Josh Auty, Thomas Jorgensen and Theo Pijper in their ranks.

They also have new captain for this term with Boston racer Simon Lambert taking over from Allen.

Lambert said: “It was good get some laps and some race simulations at press day last weekend and being with all the boys! It was just nice to meet up with them and it felt more normal after 600-odd days since we last rode together as a team.

“Everyone looked sharp last week and we can’t wait to race properly on Sunday against the Gladiators with three-time World champion Mr Crump in town! It will be a big afternoon for me leading the boys for the first time.

“I really can’t wait because it is such a big honour and privilege for me to be captain of such a great club like Scunthorpe. ”

Scunthorpe promoter Rob Godfrey added: “I realise it’s going to be emotional on Sunday, I have no doubts about that, but now is the time to put the smiles back on people’s faces.

“This year is all about getting up-and-running again and that is the most important thing this season – it really is. I believe our fans have missed seeing the Scorpions in action as much as I have.

“We’re out there to surprise a few people this season. There won’t be any visiting teams coming to Scunny thinking they’re in for an easy ride, especially as most of our team are very experienced around the Eddie Wright Raceway.”

SCUNTHORPE: Josh Auty, Simon Lambert (C), Theo Pijper, Tero Aarnio, Thomas Jorgensen, Josh Macdonald, Jordan Palin.

PLYMOUTH: Jason Crump, Zach Cook, Steve Goret, Dillon Ruml, Bjarne Pederson (C), Alfie Bowtell, TBC.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close